Reflections on the Grind

thoughts on life

Archive for August 2nd, 2007

Up the hill, to the Fortress

leave a comment »

Two days ago I ran with Sergey, Kim, Andriy, and Yury from the hotel to the Sangdangsansoeng fortress. It was the longest run I have had in the last 2 years. The distance was probably about 7-8 km. So roundtrip is ~15 km. The toughest part wasn’t the distance; it’s the slopes. There were some crazy inclines on the way up.

The guys were amazingly strong. I had to do lots of walking. The experience makes me realize that I don’t like gravity that much. Earth is too heavy. The pain was incredible.

The weather wasn’t quite as nice as our first try on Sunday. It was too humid and warm. Anyhow, I felt wonderful after the run.

Sangdangsansoeng Fortress Gate sign

Written by Rop

August 2, 2007 at 4:29 am

Posted in running, travel