Reflections on the Grind

thoughts on training and life of an introvert

Close call

with 4 comments

Last night after attending the piano concert at Geneva Conservatory I was walking back to the hostel with my colleague. The streets at nearly 10pm were dark in some spots. A guy in black leather walked behind us and mumbled things to me. He motioned to my watch. I assumed that he was asking for time. So I showed him my watch. Then he mumbled some more and wanted to give a hi five. Then he got closer and tangled his foot with mine. I got suspicious and realized he already had his hand in my right pocket. I grabbed my wallet and yelled ‘No!’ He then walked away quickly.

It was a close call to losing my wallet. besides money I of course had various cards and documents in there. It would ruin my trip if I were to lose it last night. Got to be careful at all time. There are crooks everywhere.

Written by Rop

October 15, 2008 at 12:32 pm

Posted in learn, travel

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. wow..that’s a terrify moment.

    lek

    October 16, 2008 at 4:57 am

  2. I encountered a pickpocket in Geneva just now, along Rue Chaponniere next to the Cornavin train station. I looked up the net to see if others had the same experience and found our blog. And I have to same it was the same modus operandi! The black guy was pointing to his watch asking for the time. I showed him my watch and then he tried to tangle his foot with mine to trip me up. The next moment he was walking away and I realized something is amiss. I checked my wallet and it was gone! I ran after him and whack his back. He was already going through my wallet. Knowing he had been discovered, he threw away my wallet then followed by a CHF 100 note. I picked them up and left, not before shouting ASSHOLE at him.

    After this experience, I will be keeping my wallet in my front pocket and avoiding these dubious strangers at all cost.

    Busta

    March 9, 2009 at 11:04 pm

  3. Good that you got your wallet back Busta. It is a disturbing experience. We must be careful.

    Roppon

    March 9, 2009 at 11:20 pm

  4. Yes it was disturbing indeed.. On the bright side, it will make me more vigilant in future. 🙂

    Busta

    March 10, 2009 at 9:35 am


Leave a Reply

