Reflections on the Grind

thoughts on training and life of an introvert

Travel day

leave a comment »

Flew out of Bangkok Saturday night, and arrived in Trieste Sunday morning. Total travel time is nearly 20 hours. Quite tired and didn’t get a good sleep on the plane. Seems to be near impossibility when one flies Economy.

Found Trieste to be a beautiful little town. ICTP is located near a shipyard. Looked down from my room to get a vast view of the Adriatic Sea. The weather was chilly, but not freezing.

From Trieste April 2009

After checking in to the Guesthouse, I went out to sightsee the area. It rained the whole time, since I landed. But it wasn’t a very hard rain so I was able to run.

Suddenly felt exhausted. I am not used to running at an altitude. The hill wasn’t that high, just around 250-300 ft above sea (according to the GPS). I was gasping for air after running up a short hill. In Bangkok, I’ve always run at sea level. The body quickly adjusted though. The run was very pleasant. It was cool. I didn’t sweat nearly as much as I used to. Ran for half an hour, with multiple stops to take pictures.

I got to see the Park of Miramare a little bit. Delightful little place.

From Trieste April 2009

Got a bit tired after the long trip so I came back to my room early. There will be a lot more time to explore the area.

Written by Rop

April 20, 2009 at 6:15 am

Posted in running, travel

Leave a Reply

