Reflections on the Grind

thoughts on training and life of an introvert

Long run

leave a comment »

Got in a long run this morning. Nawamin Park. New Balance shoes. Sunny morning. A big milestone.

I knew it was gonna be hard. I brought a granola bar and a canned sweetened drink along. Put the bar in my pants pocket and the drink on one of the park benches. I started slowly and kept the pace steady. Slow and steady. Ate the granola bar at about the halfway point. Took the drink at about 10 km to go. They helped, I think.

Still, it hurt. The legs and knees mostly. The twisted left ankle had become a non issue. The knees and legs are not as strong as I want them to be. A lot more training is needed.

I was determined to complete it no matter how slow. I need one long run under my belt. This is that one. Fought a hot sun the last half. My neck, arms, and face were crusted with salt during and after the run. Is this really November? It feels like April.

The race will be 10K longer than today’s run. I know it will hurt. But I will try my best to fight through the pain.

Gonna rest now, and enjoy the NYC marathon tonight.

Written by Rop

November 1, 2009 at 5:28 pm

Posted in running

Leave a Reply

