Reflections on the Grind

thoughts on training and life of an introvert

The big day

with 2 comments

Months of training have finally concluded. Did my last run today. Race day is near, just hours away. Got the bib and race singlet from the expo. Laying down things I need before taking off.

Ready or not, it’s time. It has been a learning experience. I had run in two shorter races in 2009. But the focus all year long has always been on this Bangkok Marathon. The training has been less than ideal due to injuries and sickness. It has consisted of ups and downs, just like life, you may say. The 12 weeks till the race look like this:

I have prepared the best I could. Confidence is higher than last year definitely. I’m gonna show up at the starting line relatively healthy, as I had hoped. There are areas of concerns, which are where I still have some discomfort: left hip, both calves, right knee, and both achilles. Other than that, things seem okay :).

I won’t be alone at the finish line this year. It means so much to have the support.

My simple goal is to have a better race than last year. Time goal is a sub-5. But you never know what’s gonna happen. Last year, I tried my best but my legs were in so much pain they cramped up. This time around, I might make the time goal or I might not. The important thing is to enjoy the experience and the challenge.

The emotions are high. I’m excited but scared, nervous but happy. Hoping for the best, preparing for the worst.

Written by Rop

November 21, 2009 at 7:21 pm

Posted in running, thoughts

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Good luck! Nothing like that feeling right before a big race, hu?

    Mandi

    November 21, 2009 at 8:52 pm

    • hi Mandy. thank you for the comment! the race went really well.

      Roppon

      November 23, 2009 at 4:24 pm


Leave a Reply

