Reflections on the Grind

thoughts on training and life of an introvert

Exercise-induced urticaria

with one comment

Had to cut the run short this morning. Developed urticaria (hives) again. Body felt warm. Hands were swollen red and numb. Hives were developed everywhere. It was extremely itchy.

I suspect that it was caused by eating shrimp this morning and then exercising. It’s the second time this year that I got this reaction. The first time, I rushed to the clinic to get injected with antihistamine, and within hours the hives disappeared. This time I wanted to see whether my body can heal itself. I slowly feel better. But the itch still exists many hours later.

It’s causing me a good deal of distress. If this condition occurred during a race, it would ruin the day. Good thing this didn’t happen during the marathon last week. Got to watch what I eat carefully.

Written by Rop

November 30, 2009 at 4:28 pm

Posted in health

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] a comment » At dinner Monday night, I ate a shrimp. Was a bit concerned due to my recent allergic episodes with shrimps. Ran Tuesday morning without a problem. Good news. It was just one shrimp though, so […]

    Food « Rop's Reflections

    January 21, 2010 at 8:04 pm


Leave a Reply

