Reflections on the Grind

thoughts on training and life of an introvert

Don Bosco 2010

with 2 comments

Today I ran the Don Bosco 10K race and here’s a quick recap of it. This was my second straight year I participated in this race. I went into the race feeling fit but not very fast. The training sessions were mostly steady, moderate-pace runs, due to the heat and humidity.

Got to the park around 4:30 am. Plenty of time to register. I did some warmup jogs, drank some water, and used the toilet. The race began slightly late at 6:10 am, perhaps due to security issues (the prime minister was there to give the formal opening speech). The weather was warm and humid as expected.

I ran strong yet conservatively in the beginning. Didn’t look at the watch all race. Just told myself to do my best. Ended up with a PB, 43:35, beating my last year’s time by about 8 mins.

Quite shocked about how much improvement I made. I gave it my all today and very happy about the result.

Despite the late start and commotion regarding the opening ceremony, the race was well organized. Rama IX Park is a nice place to run. The route was well marked. Staff did their job with smiles. Post-race drinks and foods were sufficient. Nothing tastes better than post-run food. Had some tuna sandwiches and cocoa cereal and they were great.

Not a bad way to begin the Chinese New Year and Valentine’s Day.

Took several photos of the event with my phone.

Starting tomorrow, I’m going to take it down a notch and rest my left foot.

Written by Rop

February 14, 2010 at 9:08 pm

Posted in health, running

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Congratulations Roppon. That’s a fantastic achievement and great improvement on last year. Nice of PM Abhisit to come and watch you:)

    marty

    February 15, 2010 at 1:01 am

    • thanks Marty. it was a great experience. hope your will have a good race next weekend.
      lol about the PM. he brought along lots of police officers to the race 🙂

      Roppon

      February 15, 2010 at 7:43 pm


Leave a Reply

