Reflections on the Grind

thoughts on training and life of an introvert

Worn

with 2 comments

Watching the elite marathoners ran the Boston Marathon gives me a source of inspiration. How is it possible to run that fast for that long? How can one cover 26.2 miles in 2 hours and 5 minutes? Nobody is born to do that. You got to train damn hard to be able to accomplish such feat. There’s nothing more to it. That, to me, is incredibly inspiring.

This morning I could only manage about half of my goal distance. Pace was good though. Fastest run I did in a while. Had trouble breathing and keeping the body temperature down. Chest was stuffy. The illness is making it tough to run. Feeling worn down. Mind is motivated but body is not there.

Down but not out.

Written by Rop

April 21, 2010 at 8:15 am

Posted in health, running

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi Rop. Make sure you’re getting the rest you need. Don’t worry about doing half of what you were to do. Bill Rodgers, the great marathoner once said that he felt better doing an easy run with a sore throat because the recovery was quicker.

    I’m amazed that the quickest mile split was 4:35 by Merga of Ethiopia. My best mile on the track was 4:38. Thsse guys run a ton of sub five minute miles.

    Take care my friend!

    Wayne

    April 21, 2010 at 9:33 am

    • Thanks Wayne-I’ll surely take caution, especially in this hot season. I hope that running will help speed up recovery.

      Roppon

      April 21, 2010 at 12:52 pm


Leave a Reply

