Reflections on the Grind

thoughts on training and life of an introvert

Long sickness

with one comment

Still having the cold. Been over 2 weeks now. Ran very few miles last week. This week I’ll take complete rest, taking days off till I’m well.

What good is a runner who cannot run? Not much. It’s a tough time. I have been looking to enter a half-marathon in June. Not sure of that now.

Missing my uncle. When I ran Bangkok Marathon last year, I met him before the race started. He was there, sacrificing sleep organizing the event. He gave me some snack as fuel, and advised me to go get some rest. When I finished the race with a PB, I looked for him but couldn’t find him in the big crowd. This year I would not meet him at the race. His passing was so sudden. Never saw that coming at all.

Life is too short to be constantly planning for tomorrow. Be good today, challenge yourself today, do things you want to do today.

Written by Rop

May 4, 2010 at 3:11 pm

Posted in health, thoughts

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I hope you are getting over your cold, Rop. Sorry to hear the news of your Uncle’s passing. It just goes to show how, as you say, we should live life to the full and seize every opportunity. Don’t worry too much about missing 2 week’s training. You have a good fitness base, and anyway, all need to rest the body sometimes. I hope you are soon back running and racing.

    marty42km

    May 7, 2010 at 10:22 am


Leave a Reply

