Reflections on the Grind

thoughts on training and life of an introvert

EGAT 10K

with 4 comments

14th EGAT Minimarathon (กฟผ. มินิมาราธอน ครั้งที่ 14)
กระทรวงสาธารณสุข นนทบุรี

I participated in EGAT minimarathon on 5 Sep 2010. The event was held at Ministry of Public Health, Nonthaburi. It was the first time I went there. The place was much bigger than I expected.

The race was my second in 2010—first in almost 7 months.

As with most races in Thailand, the start time was 6 am. I got up at 3am, ate a small piece of cake, left house at 4:10am. Got to the site and registered. Got our bibs. I registered for a 10K, Nan 2.4km walk. It was our first event together.

My body felt good. Whatever pain I had in my left leg/foot were no trouble. Weather was all right. Not too hot. The air was relatively clean because we didn’t have to go outside the Ministry. The sun was strong though, especially in the later part of the race. And of course, it was humid as usual.

There were 3 water stations, at 2.5, 5, and 7.5 km. The placing of km signs was a bit irregular, so it was hard to gauge accurately how far I had to go. I didn’t look at the watch. I just wanted to go by feel. I started pushing hard at around 2.5-3km out. I was really tired and wanted to walk during the last km. I gutted it out and ran through the finish line.

result: 10.1km, 43:51
placing: 19/500 (this is charity race. no top runners.)

egat 10k

near the finish

(photo via BKT club)

Nan finished her first walk-run. It was a charity walk. She did a great job and I’m very proud of her!

egat 2.4 km

Nan in her run/walk.

(photo via BKT club)

The post-race food was really good. Rice & egg, noodle, and ice-cream.

A pretty well organized race I think. So, thanks to the race organizers for their hard work. A good vibe as usual from all the happy, enthusiastic runners.

Before going home, we did some shopping and I bought another pair of shoes. I now probably have too many shoes! In my defense, it was hard to find decent running shoes at decent prices in Bangkok malls. Road races are the best places to get them.

After a short rest at home, Nan and I went out and had lunch with old friends. We knew each other from over 20 years ago. Long-time friends!

At two restaurants (สวนผักน้ำ and NYCC), we had pastas, salads, big slices of cheese cakes. Good eats with good friends.

And finally, we had dinner with our parents to end the day at Baan Suan Nam (บ้านสวนน้ำ). Seafood and wine. All in all, a really good Sunday.

Written by Rop

September 7, 2010 at 11:23 am

Posted in running, thoughts

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. nice work rop and nan. i know moph in nonthaburi well; i have attended some meetings there. happy new shoes rop (are they adizero bostons?)

    marty42km

    September 13, 2010 at 2:35 pm

    • you have great eyes Marty. that’s what they are.
      didn’t know you work in health field. MoPH is a nice place to run. wish it were a bit closer to my house.

      Roppon

      September 13, 2010 at 3:50 pm

  2. i also wear [yellow] adizero boston – they are a good shoe, very light. i like them and alternate mine with my asics gel nimbus 12s

    marty42km

    September 13, 2010 at 5:08 pm

  3. […] I returned to this event after running it last year. This edition was held at the EGAT HQ in Nonthaburi. The drive was only 30 min as it’s […]


Leave a Reply

