Reflections on the Grind

thoughts on training and life of an introvert

A week in the woods

with 3 comments

We evacuated from our Bangkok home for a week last week. The news on TV and internet was worrying us. I felt we should get out before we could not.

Spent a relaxing time among the green trees and corn fields of Kanchanaburi. 220 km away from care. Away from urban pollution. Plenty of fresh food and clean water. We could access internet for our work. We could probably spend a month there. However, we had to return yesterday though due to work and travel arrangements. Such is life.

Turned out it was probably good to get back yesterday rather than later, as the main roads which connect Bangkok and Kanchanaburi were all getting cut off due to the flooding. Yesterday we could not even use the road we used on our outbound drive (Petchakasem) as it was already flooded. We had to use another route, which was 50 km longer. We may not be able to come back for a long time if we did not do so yesterday or within these few days.

We hoped when we took off that the flood would come and be gone by the time we got back. Well, we came back to a dry house. The water came more slowly than predicted but it eventually showed up this morning, less than a day after we got back home. Not ideal situation obviously. But we will find ways to adapt. No use stressing out about natural crisis. Got to face it with a strong mind.

Bangkok flood map. flood is coming from the north. my house is in red circle. (source: Thai PBS)

Bangkok flood map. flood is coming from the north. my house is in red circle. (source: Thai PBS)

On a bright side, I got to run daily while in Kanchanaburi. One hour of easy jog in the morning before breakfast. The space was limited. There were several scary looking dogs who protected their territories with loud barks. So I ran on a bumpy surface of a short dirt trail, doing 180 degree turn every 100m or so. Making do of the environment. Air was clean and temperature was cool.

Don, nice house dog

Don, nice house dog

little shih tzu Milo

little shih tzu Milo

green nature of Kanchanaburi

green nature of Kanchanaburi

playing with Don

playing with Don

my wife's grandmom

my wife's grandmom

dirt road in front of the house: my place to run

dirt road in front of the house: my place to run

Written by Rop

November 4, 2011 at 2:14 pm

Posted in running, thoughts, travel

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Sorry to hear about that. What do you mean, “the water showed up”? You mean in the street outside, or inside your house? Not inside, I hope.
    My daughter is in Soi Sathorn 13, so still dry…I think.

    Bob Poulson

    November 5, 2011 at 9:11 pm

  2. It came from underground and also from the street. Impossible to block. Water is not yet inside the house but it is surrounding the house and making a big mess.
    Sathorn is still dry I think. They are trying their best to protect the downtown areas.

    Rop

    November 6, 2011 at 11:03 am

  3. Greetings from Los angeles! I’m bored at work so I decided
    to check out your blog on my iphone during lunch break. I
    love the knowledge you provide here and can’t
    wait to take a look when I get home. I’m shocked at how quick your blog loaded on my
    phone .. I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G ..
    Anyhow, superb site!

    Pattaya Para Gliding

    September 27, 2014 at 7:08 am


Leave a Reply

