Reflections on the Grind

thoughts on training and life of an introvert

Vienna

with 5 comments

Had a short work trip to Vienna, Austria. It was arranged on a short notice, so I had to go alone without my wife. Two and a half days of meeting, which was productive, useful, and interesting. I had less than five hours of actual sightseeing and shopping.

One of my top priorities in any foreign land is to try local food. The sausages were yummy. Since I gave up coffee over a year ago, I didn’t try it. I also missed out on the wiener schnitzel.

Chili bratwurst. perfect for subzero weather.

Chili bratwurst. perfect for subzero weather.

The city was beautiful. Clean, convenient, and safe. It was cold (sub zero C). No snow or rain though, just freezing temp, enough to make my hands numb with pain. Despite that fact, the weather was great for running. I didn’t have much time to run due to tight meeting schedule. I ran a little bit each morning, wearing two jackets, running gloves, wool hat, and Nike Vapor Quick 2 shoes. It was an experience different than the usual. Running without sweating was quite pleasant.

cold running

cold running

Goethe monument

Goethe monument

Danube canal

Danube canal

Yesterday I was back to the office for the first time in over a month. Dirty water was gone, but the ground smelled quite bad. Walked inside Kasetsart University to survey the damage. From the stains, it was obvious how high the water level was. The entire campus just stank. I ran on the track in the evening and it was yucky. The college is still closed, but there were some cleanup crews on campus working hard. One can only hope something will be done to ensure this will not happen again.

Written by Rop

November 29, 2011 at 10:01 am

Posted in food, travel

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Nice trip, too bad you didn’t have time to stay longer.
    I will be arriving Bangkok Dec. 25th. Going to Koh Kott for 3 days, then back in the city from the 30th to Jan. 5th. Hope we can get together during that time. And I would like to run a 5K race, if there are any. Jan 1st might be hard, but the 2nd, 3rd, or 4th would be great. Please let me know if there are any races then.
    Bob

    Bob Poulson

    December 1, 2011 at 12:11 pm

    • Hi Bob,

      There is UN Day run, a 10k in BKK on 31 dec. there is no race, of any distance, during first week of Jan that I can find yet.

      During new year weekend i’m planning to go outside bangkok for vacation. But it’s not set yet.

      Rop

      Rop

      December 1, 2011 at 12:33 pm

      • 10k in the heat…ok, I guess I can handle it. Do they have same-day signup?

        Bob Poulson

        December 1, 2011 at 12:45 pm

      • According to what I read, you can register on race day. they open registration at 4 am. Start time is 6 am. Location is Sanam Luang.

        Rop

        December 2, 2011 at 6:55 am

      • Thanks, I’ll let you know if I will run it. I’m not sure I CAN run a race at 6:00am….

        Bob Poulson

        December 2, 2011 at 7:03 am


Leave a Reply

