Reflections on the Grind

thoughts on training and life of an introvert

Six weeks

leave a comment »

I got back to Bangkok on Saturday. That night I ate a few shrimps in a stir-fry at dinner, then went to run on the treadmill, and got hives, again. Itchy. I like shrimps, but they are not worth the itch. Took two antihistamine pills and went to sleep. The drug kept me dizzy, again, for the entire Sunday.

On Monday and Tuesday I ran in Kaset campus. Tuesday night was when I got a headache which lasted over one day. I think that the fume from the mold caused it. So I don’t think I will be going in there again for a while. At least not without a mask. The university is like my home away from home. I have almost all my lunches there, and run there regularly. So I’ll be packing lunch from home for the time being.

Though I’m not feeling too good health-wise this week, at least I am not injured or having to deal with real illness of any kind. A healthy year. Flood and travel had made the mileage dip in November, going under 300 km for the first time since March. The numbers aren’t that important though. It’s about having fun with the mileage. However, currently I cannot seem to get into a groove. No run seems to be effortless these days. With one month to go in 2012, I hope my running will pick up. It might help to go outside and run in a park (that doesn’t smell). I am training for a January race. I am gearing toward Chombueng Marathon on 15 Jan. It’s closer and cheaper than Khonkaen, which I would like to do one day.

It’s good to commit myself so I have something to train for. Right now I am not in a marathon shape. Maybe a half-marathon shape. There is time to get ready. Six weeks. Maybe 4 weeks of hard training, then 2 of tapering. We will see.

Written by Rop

December 2, 2011 at 3:41 pm

Posted in health, running, thoughts

Leave a Reply

