Reflections on the Grind

thoughts on training and life of an introvert

2011 in summary

leave a comment »

Spending the new year holidays in Kanchanaburi this year with my wife’s family and relatives.

This has been a good year. I raced five times. One marathon, one half-marathon, and three 10K’s. Would have probably done six were it not for the flood. I achieved two of my goals: PB’s in marathon (3:27) and half marathon (1:36). Also earned 10K PB as a bonus (40:26). Health-wise, it’s been very good. I got one cold all year, back in January.

I managed to log a good number of miles:
Jan: 412 km
Feb: 297 km
Mar: 266 km
Apr: 330 km
May: 326 km
June: 335 km
July: 382 km
Aug: 380 km
Sep: 331 km
Oct: 358 km
Nov: 288 km
Dec: 451 km

total 2011 distance: 4153 km (2580 mi). In 2010 I ran 3922 km; in 2009, 3113 km.

The defining day of the year was probably 27 Feb, Tokyo Marathon. I ran well and had an awesome experience. I became a sub 3:30 marathoner.

Since Tokyo Marathon I took two days off and I ran everyday ever since. Some day just 2 km. No matter what life throws at me, I always make time for running.

Yesterday, the last day of 2011, I got myself a non-running-related injury. Tried a box jump. Got reluctant mid-air and scraped my left shin. Later that night, my wife got a minor burn from launching a sky lantern. Today, I dropped a camera and damaged an expensive lens. A series of unlucky events. Stuff happens. One moment everything is fine, the next, not quite so. You have to move on. Be in the moment.

Got in a morning run to begin 2012 today. The wound didn’t affect my running too much, fortunately. I’m still doing Chom Bueng two weeks from today.

Looking ahead, I have no concrete goals this year. I will take it one day at a time. Enjoy each and every run. I will do my best in every race. If I get PB’s, that’s great. But above all, I just want to keep on finding peace and quiet through running. Live a simple, stress-free life. Minimize materialistic dependence. Continue eating real food (meat, fish, vegetables, nuts, fruits) and stay healthy.

Written by Rop

January 1, 2012 at 10:39 pm

Posted in food, running, thoughts

Leave a Reply

