Reflections on the Grind

thoughts on training and life of an introvert

Shorter and faster

with 3 comments

Currently my typical day (weekday) goes like this:

  • 6.5 hr sleeping (10pm-4:30am)
  • 1.5 hr running and cleaning up
  • 11 hr working (8) and commuting (3)
  • 2 hr eating and preparing food
  • 3 hr web browsing, videogaming, and other errands

On the weekends, I sleep a bit more and do zero work. I would like to get in more sleep during the week, as my energy is low in the afternoon. Wish we practice siestas in Thailand.

Now I am targetting a 10K (Nida mini) in March. A city route not too far from the house (~12 km drive). Going to train and rest properly for it. Will try different approach compared to what I’ve been doing. Instead of a routine 1 hour run each day, I’ll be doing shorter, but faster stuff. Just to experiment. Five-week preparation started Monday. The interval session was super tough, as my body was not used to it.

Sub 40 min 10k is not easy. Perhaps the hardest of my four goals. Another possible obstacle is what might be an injury. Left foot hurts a little bit underneath, with symptoms pointing to plantar fasciitis. Right now there is no real problem, but I have to be cautious. It’s more pronounced when I first wake up and less so once I start running.

Been doing more cooking at home recently. Learning simple dishes from blogs and youtube. Made sauteed pork liver with onion/garlic tonight. Good to cook my own food. Continuing to limit carbs, especially sugar. But Nan just baked yummy oatmeal cookies over the weekend. They are so good and hard to resist. They will help fuel and refuel me for the hard workouts.

Written by Rop

February 8, 2012 at 5:31 am

Posted in health, running

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. hi rop – like the animation – is that your work? btw i am in bkk/thailand from 1-14 march. thanks for the heads up about the race on 11th which i am now thinking of joining. where in bkk is it? if i run i will be treating it as a training run (45 mins)

    marty

    February 9, 2012 at 2:03 am

    • thanks for comment on my drawing. was playing around on an ipad.
      the 11 Mar race is in Bangkapi (NIDA college). the announced detail is light so far. based on last year’s brochure, the route will be on Ramkamhaeng and Seri Thai roads. start time 6 am.
      if I know more I will let you know.

      Rop

      February 9, 2012 at 7:50 am

  2. […] slight change from 5 months ago. More sleeping, less running. Less TV and gaming, more […]


Leave a Reply

