Reflections on the Grind

thoughts on training and life of an introvert

Half way through

with one comment

In the third of my five-week 10k training. Basically half way into this speed-intensive training, I’m still coming up short on my hard sessions. 4 min/km pace seems way too fast to hold on for 40 min. But I’m not giving up. There’s still time. Perhaps I need to get outside to get my groove back. The last time I ran off the treadmill was over 2 weeks ago. Sounds a bit sad!

Still experimenting with my body nutrition-wise. I used to eat anything. Now, as I’m getting older, I’m more mindful of what I put in my body. My staple carb source has changed from white rice to fruits and vegetables, and sometimes potatoes. So, I’ve been spending more time in the kitchen recently to accommodate this new approach to food.

Interesting 8.4 km race in Bangkok on 26 Feb (this Sunday). Still looking for more info about it.

Finally, a brochure of Nida 10.5 km race on 11 Mar.

In past couple years, doctors see my total cholesterol (TC) number (> 260) and keep telling me to exercise more and watch my diet. Research shows that there is no link between high cholesterol and heart disease [UCLA]. This recent study in Japan shows that total cholesterol/HDL-cholesterol ratio is a better predictor of coronary heart disease than TC. Although I have good HDL-C number, doctors seem to think that TC being over 200 indicates trouble. I think they just want to sell their statins.

Written by Rop

February 22, 2012 at 1:51 pm

Posted in health, running

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. thanks for the race info, rop. i hope to see you in bkk

    marty

    February 27, 2012 at 5:36 pm


Leave a Reply

