Reflections on the Grind

thoughts on training and life of an introvert

Out

with one comment

February was my lowest mileage month since May 2010. Ran almost only on the treadmill, averaging just over 8 km/day. It did not feel easy in any way though, as the pace was challenging.

It might have resulted in overtraining, in fact. Yesterday, after a 30-min morning run, I urinated blood and had to go to the hospital. It was very unsettling as that never happened to me before. The test concluded I had urinary bladder inflammation. The doctor gave me some medicine and arranged a follow-up meeting next week.

I woke up today with a fever. I am also having a painful stiff neck. Just feeling awful basically. So I’m out of a 10K race this Sunday, which I spent the past five weeks preparing for. Disappointing but, well, that’s life. I will look for the next race when I feel better.

Along with the training cycle, the food experiment has also come to the end. Gone grain-free for 30 days, and ate fruits and veggies in place of bread and rice. Still fine-tuning what works for me. A few days ago, Nan made delicious wheat-less almond chocolate cake. It’s yummy, especially as post-run snack.

Hope to get back to running soon.

Written by Rop

March 9, 2012 at 10:00 pm

Posted in health, running

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Wow – seeing blood where you’re not supposed to see blood…that would be a shock!
    Hope you are back to full fitness soon.

    Bob Poulson

    March 10, 2012 at 8:24 pm


Leave a Reply

