Reflections on the Grind

thoughts on training and life of an introvert

Rejuvenated but tired

with 4 comments

Next year we might go to England again, as I entered the 2013 London Marathon lottery. Ballot has already closed after just one day. Incredibly popular race. Will find out in October whether I get in or not.

London rejuvenated my joy in running. It was fun seeing Keitany and Kipsang sprinting to victories at the big race, running in Hyde Park with a friend, and racing in the rain with my wife and sister as support crew. Happy days.

However, the summer heat here is really bringing me down. 30 C in early morning and rising to 40 C throughout the day. Here in Bangkok, I sweat more just sitting around than running 5 km in London.

At this time, I have no interest in planning the next race. It’s just too warm. I get headaches just being outside an air-conditioned room. There is a 10 hour ultramarathon being held in a park this weekend. That is far from a fun concept for me.

London race is one year away. If I get lucky with the lottery, at least I will be able to train through months of Jan-Feb, which shouldn’t be too bad.

5k finish @ Paternoster Square, London. Avatar lady is a strong runner.

5k finish @ Paternoster Square, London. Avatar lady is a strong runner.

Written by Rop

May 2, 2012 at 4:32 am

Posted in running, thoughts

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’m hoping for London 2013 as well, I can’t believe how fast the ballot filled up! Good luck to you come October! 🙂

    MedalSlut

    May 2, 2012 at 4:41 am

  2. hi rop – it was good to see you and nan in london. good luck in the lottery and looking forward to running with you either here or in bkk. meanwhile, i hope it cools down over there, 40c is insane.

    marty

    May 2, 2012 at 5:24 am


Leave a Reply

