Reflections on the Grind

thoughts on training and life of an introvert

Changes

with one comment

Out for a run in a park last Saturday. Three laps around a 2-km loop. Very sunny and warm. Though it was good to get outside after another treadmill week, I felt so spent for such a short run. Nothing comes easy these days. I used to run more. Was I always this tired?

The park has a nice asphalt pavement, with some grass along the side. MT110 were used. The shoes are light and nimble, and don’t hurt my feet like the Adizero Boston do sometimes. In general, I have had good experience with New Balance shoes.

Some trouble with food over the weekend. Ate some shrimp and got itchy again. Thought I got over the allergy. Guess not. This time it wasn’t too bad though.

Also had issues with MSG in somtam (papaya salad) when we went out for lunch on Sunday. Face got numbed after one bite. Another restaurant added to our blacklist. Too bad, as I like their grilled chicken. Thai food may be tasty, but you have to watch out when eating out. Often, large amounts of MSG, salt, and sugar are added without care. Food quality can be quite lacking on the streets of Bangkok.

On a brighter note, Nan made brownie with walnuts over the weekend and it’s delicious, as usual. I can always count on home-cooked meals.

walnut brownie

walnut brownie

Though I have cut back a lot on desserts, I still regularly have brownie, dark chocolate, and sweet mango with sticky rice. They are my not-so-guilty pleasures.

Euro 2012 tournament has started. It’s being broadcast on free tv in Thailand. Only watched one match played so far (Germany-Portugal). I used to be one of those football fans who stayed up late; but now I see little reason to sacrifice sleep for these games. A sign of being old. I still follow the results, but not feeling attached to any nation in particular. Now, if Argentina were playing, I would be cheering for Messi.

Written by Rop

June 14, 2012 at 3:29 pm

Posted in food, health, running, thoughts

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Messi – What a Freak

    squiznit

    June 14, 2012 at 7:11 pm


Leave a Reply

