Reflections on the Grind

thoughts on training and life of an introvert

A healthy life

leave a comment »

I had an uncle who was very fit. He was a well-respected military officer, father of two, and runner who never had serious illness. In 2010, he died suddenly in his bed after a morning run. Everyone who knew him was shocked. He was fit but apparently not healthy. It was suggested that he was under stress during that time. Nobody really knew what made his heart stop.

One positive thing was that he went in peace. To many people, it was an ideal way to die. He died after doing something he loved—running. He died with his beloved wife by his side. No prolonged pain, no old-age struggles, and no financial waste to a hospital. I agree that it is a good way to go. If I were to die today, the less I suffer, the better.

I have decided that, while alive, I want to live the healthiest life possible. Being fit is not the same as being healthy. Since my uncle’s death, I have become more cautious about exercising. Running is not a magic medicine that cures all. I trained hard because I wanted to obtain certain goals. Now that I am somewhat satisfied with those goals, it’s time to target other important things.

Eat, sleep, exercise. All three components must be taken care of. I used to worry only about running. Now I focus more on my sleep hours and what I put in my stomach. I am even open to more types of exercises to be more balanced fitness-wise. Eat well, sleep enough, exercise adequately. That’s all there is to it.

Written by Rop

July 11, 2012 at 3:51 pm

Posted in health, thoughts

Leave a Reply

