Reflections on the Grind

thoughts on training and life of an introvert

Pain

with 4 comments

Illness
I have a condition called septic arthritis, also known as bacterial arthritis. Many joints have hurt. Left shoulder, right knee, left ankle, left chest, hips.

Therapy
I spent 7 days in the hospital. During the first five days my body was so stiff I couldn’t even turn to the side. My right leg and buttock could not bear any weight. Victories come in centimeters. On the sixth day I finally was able to sit on the bed. When I was able to do that, I started thinking about going home. I then learned to use a walker to move.

Good to be back home. Still, I have not been able to walk since 18 Aug. It’s been 12 straight days of receiving antibacterial drug intravenously. My swollen right knee was drained four times.

Doctors still could not identify the bacteria. But the symptoms point to bacterial infection. I still don’t know how I got infected. They said I am lucky that the body has responded well to the general antibacterial. This was evident from the fever having gone away and the pain slowly decreasing. Has this not been the case, I would need surgery.

Looking ahead
Needless to say, the past couple of weeks have been trying. Overnight, I went from running everyday to barely being able to stand. I’m not sure whether I could train for London Marathon 2013, assuming I get chosen. Cannot do much now. Spending most of my day on a bed. My appetite is back to normal and I’m looking to gain back 3 kg I lost during the hospital stay.

Written by Rop

August 29, 2012 at 12:30 pm

Posted in health

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. oh no, rop. so sorry to hear about your hospital stay but glad you are home and that you seem to be responding to the anti-biotics. get plenty of rest and hope the recovery continues. ps. your health comes first, you have 6 weeks until london lottery is decided. let’s hope you are recovered by then

    marty

    August 30, 2012 at 3:27 am

    • i hope so. getting better slowly each day. hope i can still do the london marathon.

      Rop

      August 31, 2012 at 4:23 pm

  2. Aj.Ae, wish you a speedy recovery!

    Cheng

    August 30, 2012 at 1:10 pm

    • thank you Cheng!
      will recover eventually. just have to be patient. no sickness lasts forever.

      Rop

      August 31, 2012 at 4:24 pm


Leave a Reply

