Reflections on the Grind

thoughts on training and life of an introvert

Fighting

with 4 comments

Yesterday I received the final dose of IV antibacterial. Two weeks of daily injection were finally over. Still have to take oral drug for two more weeks. My blood is full of antibiotics.

I really want to visit London again and run the London Marathon. However, if my body is not ready, I won’t force anything. Doctors said that the damage to the joints could take a long time to fully heal.

It’s been a long fight, which I hope will be over soon. I will recover and run again. Hardest part of all this is not being able to walk, which until now has been two weeks already.

If you want to do something, do it now. Want to eat something, eat it as soon as you can. Want to travel somewhere, go now. Want to do something for someone, don’t wait. You don’t know if you will be able to do it tomorrow.

Had dinner on Thursday with Dad, Mom, Nan, Lung Rin, Pa Dum, and Pa Tui at Sompong. They took care of me while I was in the hospital. It was a birthday dinner. Today is my 35th birthday. My simple wish of waking up without pain didn’t come true this morning. I did manage to go up the stairs to the second floor, very slowly and carefully using the handrail. Small steps.

fighting

fighting

Three keys to my happiness are workout, nutrition, and rest. I can’t run, but am getting plenty of sleep and eating well. Two out of three ain’t bad.

Written by Rop

September 1, 2012 at 7:43 pm

Posted in health

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This must be especially hard for a runner. I pray you will recover soon and able to walk and run again. It is true we don’t know what will happen tomorrow, we should not procrastinate what we want to do.

    sunsetwonder

    September 1, 2012 at 9:56 pm

  2. Great and inspiring approach to your situation; with your positive outlook, everything will work out fine and you’ll be back running in no time:)

    jonwatersauthor.com

    wartica

    September 1, 2012 at 11:49 pm

  3. I’m sure you will be running again. Keep thinking positive thoughts.

    Bob Poulson

    September 2, 2012 at 5:20 pm

  4. thank you for your comments. positive thinking is what i must do in this situation.

    Rop

    September 3, 2012 at 11:43 am


Leave a Reply

