Reflections on the Grind

thoughts on life

Archive for October 3rd, 2012

No go

with one comment

London Marathon 2013 lottery result just came out. Didn’t get in. Well, I’m not feeling too disappointed. Lots of people applied, so I had little chance. Can’t run yet anyway. Walked on treadmill the other day for a bit to see how the leg felt. Not feeling right yet.

My aunt-in-law is in hospital due to a broken leg. She fell down stairs. We went to visit her last weekend. She gets a surgery this week and will stay in the hospital for quite a while. She seemed to be dealing with the situation in good spirits. Often, bad stuff just happens.

Carl’s Jr just opened a branch in Bangkok. It was one of my favorite places to eat when I was still in the States. That was a long time ago. Not feeling like visiting any time soon, now that my eating habit has changed a lot. I used to never cook and have an unhealthy relationship with fast food. Now I rarely eat out, and when I do, I am picky. I still love burgers. They are just home-made now.

People often get emotionally attached to the foods they ate when they were kids. Some of those foods aren’t really good for health. Recognizing this fact and breaking free from those foods can be challenging.

Read a news article the other day about a 107 years old. One of her tips is to never look back. That’s a good reminder. Sometimes you get emotional or feel regretful when reminiscing. It is pointless. It’s not useful to look ahead either, I think. In the past, when I looked too far in the future and chased external goals, the chase never seemed to end and I was never satisfied.

I start each day now imagining it could be my last day and just try to make it a happy day.

Written by Rop

October 3, 2012 at 6:12 pm

Posted in food, running, thoughts