Reflections on the Grind

thoughts on training and life of an introvert

On money, mood, and food

leave a comment »

I’ve been careful with my spending, limiting it to only the necessary (food, bills, transportation, consumable household items, and medicine). The only item I “bought to own” since my 35th birthday (1 Sep) was a wooden chopping block. It can be useful for heavy chopping or mincing meat.

Now I focus on only owning useful things. Last Sunday we did some house cleaning. Donated many old books to charity. Sure they still have values, but I don’t read them anymore. So, away they went. Giving things away makes me feel better than buying things.

old books and stuff

old books and stuff

The other thing I’ve been learning to control is my emotion. Trying to avoid extreme highs or lows. It’s to calm the mind. For example, there were fears in the early stage of the illness. But now I don’t get frustrated by it anymore. It’s normal to get sick. I’m at peace with whatever happens, either to myself or my loved ones.

Since I can’t get joy from running, my hobby has turned to cooking. I still treat myself occasionally to nice restaurants, but I’m mindful about it. Nan is a better cook than me but I have more time to do it these days. So I’m the main cook at home. It feels good to know exactly what go into my body. Cooking also helps me control my appetite. I choose ingredients that are nutrient dense and satiating. I eat three big meals per day and don’t snack in between. Mindful eating is especially important in this period of inactivity.

Found a 2-foot-long green snake in the garden yesterday. I don’t know how to deal with snakes so I called for help. A volunteer from Ruamduay (ร่วมด้วยช่วยกัน) kindly helped us remove the snake. Very grateful for that.

Written by Rop

October 12, 2012 at 3:31 pm

Posted in food, thoughts

Leave a Reply

