Reflections on the Grind

thoughts on training and life of an introvert

Quiet time away

with one comment

We had a good weekend by the seaside. Clean air, wide open natural space. Very beautiful and peaceful. Turned off the phone, TV, internet. Just chilled, ate and meditated.

Relaxing was refreshing. Once I stop worrying about the big world, which I can’t change, and just live in my small world, I can feel free.

relaxing by the sea

relaxing by the sea

Eating fresh seafood was a treat. Had a lot of squids, shrimp, crabs, fish. These are hard to find and expensive in Bangkok.

delicious food

delicious food

During jogging on the sand or sitting on a beach chair, I calmed my mind and meditated. Reflected on the life I want to have. When I am done working, I will probably leave the city and go live somewhere closer to nature. Somewhere without traffic jams, pollution, crowds. Somewhere a slower life is normal.

three girls (my cousins) at waterfall

three girls (my cousins) at waterfall

Life is too unpredictable to wait for tomorrow. But sometimes you are stuck to obligations, tied to the decisions you made in the past. A dream must remain a dream for now.

This trip to Koh Kood (เกาะกูด), which was really good, was arranged by Nan. Other travel mates were Noot, Kaew, and Ploy.

After the weekend trip, I went back to the hospital for a sepsis follow-up. Blood ESR went down from 35 to 23, which is just slightly above what normal people should have. It means there is very little inflamation remaining. Have a couple more doctor appointments to go to. After these, this long therapy should be over.

The day after I went to the hospital, I got a slight fever. Warm watering eyes and sore throat. Took some paracetamol and fa thalai jone, drank water, slept a lot, and got out in the sun. It helped and the fever subsided.

My status is still far from healthy. My plan for a 5k event next Sunday is cancelled as the pain is still existent. Also I’m dealing with a new symptom, which I expect to write about later. Whatever happens happens.

Written by Rop

October 28, 2012 at 4:53 pm

Posted in food, health, thoughts, travel

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] arthritis was about to be over, I was hit with a new, seemingly unrelated, symptom. During the vacation to Koh Kood I discovered blood in the stool. Second time this year that there was blood where it […]


Leave a Reply

