Reflections on the Grind

thoughts on training and life of an introvert

On materialism

leave a comment »

I have always preferred a minimal and simple life. Possessing material things is not something that makes me happy.

Like most people, I used to make dumb purchases, where I bought things I didn’t really need. As I grow older I’ve become wiser about spending.

Mentally, stuff weighs on your mind. Stuff requires maintenance. It collects dust. It gets in the way. It breaks. Tech stuffs become outdated quickly and their upgrade cycles never end.

The more stuff you own, the more burden you have and the more you have to lose.

I feel like I have all the material things I need. A house to live in. A car to get around. A laptop to learn. A basic phone for emergency. Just enough. I always look to give away things I no longer use.

Money isn’t a big deal when you don’t care about stuff. I don’t buy too many things for myself. Three good meals a day and nice clothes once in a while don’t cost that much. I don’t make much money but I’m comfortable financially. It’s freeing.

A weekend to relax. Tonight Nan made delicious pumpkin and carrot soup (pictured). I cooked omelette.

pumpkinsoup_june2013

This month I begin another food experiment. I will be more strict about avoiding sugar and I will limit fruits to only coconuts.

Written by Rop

June 1, 2013 at 9:05 pm

Posted in thoughts

Leave a Reply

