Reflections on the Grind

thoughts on training and life of an introvert

Joy is within

with one comment

When I work hard on something and get rewarded, it feels great. True reward is not something I get from other people. I don’t care about praises or awards. One’s life should be independent of other’s thoughts and actions. Happiness must be self-given. If you try to impress other people you will not respect your own values.

I was a long distance runner. It was hard work. To keep going as the body wanted to stop wasn’t easy. But the more I trained, the stronger and faster I got. Then I could push harder… and the limit got expanded.

Running gives me a feeling of real accomplishment. It’s about having the discipline of getting myself out there. It’s about stopping making excuses. It’s about fighting the urge to quit.

The joy that running gives is personal and doesn’t depend on anybody else.

These days, I’ve been easing back into running. Only 2-3 times a week, 12 min each time. The legs are not ready to do long distance. But 12 min is enough for me now. I do what I can. I know I don’t need exercises to keep my weight stable. Goals are simply pleasure and health.

Maybe if I work in a farm or manual labor, where I get to use my body more, I wouldn’t need to run. But for someone with a desk job, running is a good medicine for both the mind and body.

Written by Rop

June 13, 2013 at 10:23 pm

Posted in health, running, thoughts

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. good that you are easing back slowly, rop.

    marty

    June 14, 2013 at 9:10 am


Leave a Reply

