Reflections on the Grind

thoughts on training and life of an introvert

Leg day

leave a comment »

image

Today is Sunday. Not much to do so it’s a good day to get a long session in.

Squat: 107.5 kg x 3 reps x 5 sets. Pretty challenging. Took long breaks between sets.

My squat confidence is coming back. For a while, my Achilles tendons hurt chronically and I couldn’t train legs much. Then I found a solution that works for me, which really makes a difference. I placed wooden blocks under my heels. This allows me to go deeper without stretching the tendons too much. I’ve gone months without  re-aggravating the injury (fingers crossed). Recently I bought a pair of weightlifting shoes. These Strength Shop Coyotes (69 GBP) aren’t as highly-regarded as the Adipower (129 GBP) or Romaleos (175 GBP) , but they are much cheaper. For someone like myself who doesn’t compete or squat that heavy, I think it’s a good deal. I feel more confident with squat these days.

Sumo deadlift: 102.5 kg x 8 reps x 2 sets.

The sumo deadlift is still a bit awkward for me. Can’t seem to get optimal leg drive. My knees seem to undergo some level of twist. Still working on it.

Written by Rop

December 14, 2015 at 3:35 pm

Posted in training

Tagged with , , ,

Leave a Reply

