Reflections on the Grind

thoughts on training and life of an introvert

Dream

leave a comment »

As I’m writing this I’m on a bus for a long journey home. I’m going to get home late again, but I will hit the gym regardless.

Yesterday I accomplished a 3-rep PB for squat without belt. The weight doesn’t matter, as it happened in the gym. It is small accomplishments like this that keep me going.

My dream is to be the strongest lifter I can be. It may seem meaningless to most people but it’s what makes me happy. To log a set that is better than I’ve ever done is very satisfying. It’s like playing a role playing videogame where I want to keep leveling up my character. In this case, the character is myself. The reason I go to the gym is to chase my dream and improve this character.

The dream is not my master though. If I get too injured, sick, or old before I am as strong as I want, it’s still okay. The process is fun and that’s the price in itself.

Written by Rop

January 13, 2016 at 5:01 pm

Posted in thoughts, training

Leave a Reply

