Reflections on the Grind

thoughts on training and life of an introvert

PB Saturday

leave a comment »

Last year began doing regular mock meets to see where I am. Just squat, bench press, and deadlift. At first it was once a month. Then as it became more difficult to improve on the numbers, the length between the meets was extended. I did 10 of these meets last year. I haven’t done it in two months. Yesterday was my first test this year.

The training up to yesterday hadn’t been perfect. I got sick and injured. Just recovered from Achilles tendonitis. The work schedule was heavy so I was unable to get home early and train as much as I would have I liked.

However, that’s life. That’s just the way it is. You have to deal with it with what you got.

Before the session I had some cake, milk, and peanut butter, followed by some whey and pre workout. Then I proceeded to hit each lift I attempted, which was something rare. None of the attempts were easy, and that’s the way it’s ought to be. I hit all three squats (138.5 kg PB), all three benches (102.5), and all two deadlifts (145). I skipped the last deadlift attempt because I ran out of plates and it wasn’t easy to secure the dumbbell plates to the barbell.

So it was a great day of lifting. The improvements are small but steady. Now time to kick back a little and rest up. Tomorrow is another beginning of a new training phase. This strength journey goes on.

Written by Rop

January 31, 2016 at 7:44 pm

Posted in training

Tagged with , , ,

Leave a Reply

