Reflections on the Grind

thoughts on training and life of an introvert

Iron therapy

leave a comment »

Today is another long day at work. It’s been a hectic period at the office. I’ve been assigned many projects at once. I’m not a multitasking guru. I like to focus on one major task at a time. That’s not the case right now. But that’s out of my control. I’m doing my duties as best as I can. The outcome is not completely up to me so I’m not going to worry about it. The worry won’t help.

After the aforementioned long day, I’m lying here on the gym floor, resting between sets. Today is another workout day, as usual. The iron gives me something to work on, so I’m not just sitting there stressed about the heavy workload. This here in the small and quiet gym, I am home. I’m just here working on getting better at lifting; that’s all. Nothing complicated. My one task is to move weight up and down. That’s it. That’s my goal for this evening. This is my life now. At this hour, I don’t have to deal with people. I don’t have to deal with any assignments during this workout. It’s my escape. When I finish tiring myself out I will just go to make dinner. The simplicity of being here in the gym is very therapeutic to me.

The iron has offered me more than a way to get stronger. This here is my therapy.

Written by Rop

February 9, 2016 at 8:24 pm

Posted in thoughts, training

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

