Reflections on the Grind

thoughts on training and life of an introvert

Two goals

leave a comment »

This post documents a one-year progress of my main hobby: building a better body through lifting weight. I’m still far from my goals. I’ve hit consistent PBs but the progress is quite slow. At the same time I feel like I’m not lean enough for my liking. The fat around the belly and midsection is really hard to get rid of.

Pictures comparing a year ago and now:

image

image

1RMs:
Mar 2015: squat 125, bench 92.5, deadlift 125
Mar 2016: squat 137.5, bench 100, deadlift 145

Any pursuit needs goals. I’m going for both strength and physique. A “better body” needs to be, for me, strong and it must look good. Trying to match the two goals is quite a challenge. One says eat big, the other asks for just the right amount of calories. I’ve been struggling to hit both of these goals.

I still have much to learn. It’s a lifelong pursuit.

Written by Rop

March 10, 2016 at 9:32 pm

Leave a Reply

