Reflections on the Grind

thoughts on training and life of an introvert

Lunch walks

leave a comment »

On each work day, I normally take a long walk to lunch in the university. It is about 10 min each trip. The walk serves three purposes.

1. I get better selections of food to eat. College cafeterias have to serve hundreds of students. They have to be competitive to draw customers. At my Bangkok office, there are only a few food stalls. Food is very important to me. It’s one of life’s simple pleasures. Life is too short to not enjoy eating.

2. I get time alone. I need to get away from people and eat my lunch in peace. Being at the office eight straight hours a day can be exhausting. I recharge by being by myself.

3. I get some cardio workout in. I don’t run anymore so I need to get this exercise in whenever I can. Taking a long walk and using stairs are something I can make a habit out of. To get rid of the belly fat, more intense cardio is needed. But with bad Achilles tendon, walking, along with cutting calories, would have to do for now. Also, studies show that extended sitting is very bad for you. My work involves sitting in front of the computer for the majority of the day. I need to move when I get a chance.

These days, it gets pretty hot as it’s approaching summer. The temperature seems to be rising everyday. However, I still walk to lunch when I can.

image

Written by Rop

March 16, 2016 at 8:33 pm

Posted in food, health, thoughts

Leave a Reply

