Reflections on the Grind

thoughts on training and life of an introvert

Off the clock

leave a comment »

Some people like to work all the time. They are their job positions 24/7. They keep working even though they are at home, at party with friends, or out with family. They still talk business on the phone, check work emails, talk about work. Good for them if they enjoy that. That’s not me. I value my break time. When I’m off the clock I don’t want to receive any phone calls from work or to read any emails.

I am not my job. I’m much more than that. I could quit my job tomorrow and do something else.

Thinking about work all the time isn’t healthy for me. By having my time off, I can recharge and give my best when I’m on the clock.

Working eight hours a day, five days a week is enough for me. There is so much out there to do and be outside of work. Life is too short to be working overtime. The remaining 16 hours of each day, and the full 48 hours of every weekend, that’s the time I take a break and enjoy my free time. Off the clock, I’m unemployed. That’s my principle.

Written by Rop

March 18, 2016 at 9:10 pm

Posted in thoughts

Tagged with ,

Leave a Reply

