Reflections on the Grind

thoughts on training and life of an introvert

First Uber ride

leave a comment »

Bangkok public transport leaves much to be desired. I was ragged this morning taking buses to run a work errand. I normally take buses and skytrains. This place I had to go to doesn’t have access to either. I refuse to ride motorcycles in general. So I had to walk a long way from a bus stop to the destination. Being drenched in sweat at 8 am isn’t a pleasant way to begin the day.

On the way back I decided to try Uber for the first time. Learning new things is exciting. The app had some trouble with the pickup spot. For some reason, it was not set to where I actually was, so the driver and I has to talk on the phone multiple times. Anyhow, once I got in the car, a black Toyota Vios, the ride went pretty smoothly. Once I got to my destination I didn’t have to fumble with my wallet. The driver Durant have to deal with carrying lots of cash and changes. The charge is through the credit card on file. Convenient.

The drivers don’t get to refuse the passengers based on destinations. The rating system keeps both parties on their best behaviors. The fee for Uber X seems reasonable. Overall I like it. Uber is better than traditional taxis for sure.

Written by Rop

March 24, 2016 at 8:29 pm

Posted in learn, thoughts

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

