Reflections on the Grind

thoughts on training and life of an introvert

Life without children

leave a comment »

My friends and colleagues mostly have children now or are about to have ones. Naturally as a married person I keep being asked when I’m going to have my own. I keep telling them that I don’t want one.

As I’m approaching 40 soon, I’ve made peace with my decision. The reason I don’t have any children is simply that I don’t want any. My wife also feels similarly. We don’t feel a particular urge to become parents.

Here’s what i feel. People who really want to have kids and really want to be parents should have kids. Those who don’t want one or those who are not sure shouldn’t. There are enough people in the world and too many children being neglected or abused. Don’t have children just because you and your spouse are biologically capable. Have them if you are sure you want to have them and believe you can raise them well.

I’m happy for my friends and colleagues and loved ones who are happy with their kids. I can enjoy playing with the little ones from time to time. But that doesn’t make me want to have my own.

Yes I’m missing out on being a dad. But everyone is missing out on many things in life as well. Maybe people are missing out on things purposefully because they prefer life without those things. It’s our choice to choose the life we want to live. A child-free life is what I want.

Written by Rop

March 29, 2016 at 8:37 pm

Posted in thoughts

Tagged with , , ,

Leave a Reply

