Reflections on the Grind

thoughts on training and life of an introvert

On social networks

leave a comment »

No question social media can be a pretty big part of modern life. Through the screen of your phone, you can be in constant contact with your friends, family, and the world. Everybody uses it in different ways. Here’s how I use some of the networks.

Facebook is pretty good for keeping in touch with people. But there lies a problem for me.I don’t really want to be too in touch with people. I don’t have enough time and attention for all that noise. It’s like sitting at a large table with everybody talking at the same time. It’s exhausting to absorb all the information which I don’t need to know anyway.

I don’t deny that there are hilarious stuffs in the news feed from time to time. I like those.

What isn’t hilarious is the fact that the conversations also often turn political, which is depressing since I am reminded of my limited freedom of speech in this country. I can’t really talk back without starting pointless arguments, or getting into trouble with the law. Besides, it’s tricky to unfriend someone, as they are people I know in real life. So I mostly stay away from engaging on Facebook and just use it for interest groups and to get news and viewpoints not allowed in traditional media.

I like Instagram for a quick dose of motivation. It has minimal contents and layout that don’t take much time to go through. Seeing people with the similar passion from asking the world fires me up. I can browse through the pictures, close the app, and then get on with my life.

Unlike on Facebook, I follow people whom I find interesting, not people I accidentally come into contact in real life. I can also easily unfollow someone without any repercussions.

YouTube is really great. Lots of amazing contents can be found there. It’s my main place to learn things these days. Just need to stay away from the comments.

Finally, this WordPress blog is my outlet to record my thoughts and talk to myself. Blogging is conceptually social, but it’s very minimally so for this blog. Mostly i just talk to myself. I have a few people reading each post from time to time, quietly. It’s pretty cool.

Written by Rop

April 4, 2016 at 7:22 pm

Posted in learn, thoughts

Tagged with , , ,

Leave a Reply

