Reflections on the Grind

thoughts on training and life of an introvert

Giving blood

with one comment

Morning in Chiang Mai. Bought traditional food: spicy sausage (ไส้อั่ว), pork rind, nam phrik noom. Had khao soi for lunch, which was really good and cheap (50 THB). My friend and I then had unplanned blood donation in a mall. She wanted to do it, and I just went along, thinking, what the hell.

Traditional northern spicy sausage grilling

Beef khao soi

Pumping out blood

I can’t remember the last time I gave blood. I think of it as a small challenge to face. A needle in your arm doesn’t seem pleasant, but it’s just a brief physical discomfort. You can treat it as a stoic practice. The donation isn’t unhealthy in any way. To me it is not altruistic in the sense of a sacrifice. If my blood turns out to save another human’s life, then great. But giving blood is good for my health too, from what I have learned. It allows the body to come up with fresh plasma and blood cells and reduces oxidative iron.

Aside from giving a bit of your time and a temporary drop in energy level, there’s nothing lose. It feels good to do it. I could get used to this.

Written by Rop

December 14, 2016 at 7:15 pm

Posted in food, health, travel

Tagged with , ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Wow. Cool!

    Mel & Suan

    December 14, 2016 at 9:42 pm


Leave a Reply

