Reflections on the Grind

thoughts on life

Archive for October 11th, 2011

Allergy returned

leave a comment »

I had allergy from eating prawns again Sat night. The usual hives and itching developed quickly and I had to go to a drug store.

A couple pills of hydroxazine kept me dizzy and sleepy till Sunday afternoon. I don’t like to be medicated. A planned 10k Sun morning became slow, drifting 5k. That was that. Nothing too serious, but still rather annoying.

My body has built a stronger defense against the prawns, as the symptoms weren’t as serious as that time I had to take a shot at a clinic, but it still wasn’t enough.

It’s raining nearly everyday now. Sometimes twice a day. Canals are over their capacity and roads are flooded. I like rain, but not flooding. It can change lives for the worse and there’s not much one can do about it.

What awesome runs by Mosop and Shobukhova yesterday. Mosop will certainly be challenging Makau’s world record next year. Kenyan Olympics team will be formidable. Shobukhova became the second fastest woman ever with the time of 2:18:20.

Also at Chicago Marathon, a mom-to-be gave birth after finishing the race.

Written by Rop

October 11, 2011 at 8:53 am

Posted in health