Reflections on the Grind

thoughts on life

Sunny morning

leave a comment »

I went out to run early this morning. After a short run yesterday in KU campus, I wanted to go long today.

Scorching heat was there to greet me even though I started quite early (around 7:15a). Good that I wore a singlet and not a thick cotton t-shirt. It helped just a tiny bit though. The run got increasingly harder as the weather was getting hotter. Had to go at conservative pace (slow), otherwise I wouldn’t finish.

Needed to rehydrate myself so I stopped at the halfway point to drink. After the break, I continued on and fought the urge to quit. Happy to accomplish my distance goal for today. Felt very exhausted and hot at the end. More hot than tired. This is why most races held in thailand start at 6am or earlier.

Will be away from Bangkok summer for a couple weeks. I will miss my dad’s birthday. So I went to a mall to buy a gift for him.

Flying to Trieste tomorrow. It’ll be my first time in Italy. Have a meeting to attend there. Hope to learn things at the 9-day workshop, and of course to get in some quality runs by the seaside.

trieste_big

Written by Rop

April 17, 2009 at 10:13 am

Posted in running, travel

Leave a comment